The Fangirl’s Favorite Villains of 2016

fotorcreated

We had some really successful bad guys & girls this year and I think it is important to give them the recognition that is their due.  There is nothing worse than having a mediocre big bad be a nemesis, which means they are a pivotal part of what makes a drama great.  So come join The Fangirls as we discuss our favorites of 2016.  Did yours make our list?

Drama Geek:

W- Dad/Faceless Killer

Confession moment. When dad turned faceless in this show I really almost wet myself. Kudos to the show for freaking me out so much I had to pause and take several breaths before I could continue. Then when the Faceless Killer showed up he was pretty intimidating. But what really sent me over the edge was when he became Killer Dad. This actor did a superb job at transforming into a soulless killing machine. But my favorite part about this killer was he was having just as much of an identity crises as our hero. Who am I? Where’s my face? What’s my purpose? So much fun to watch this unfold.

KMUSE: I was so impressed with this character’s development throughout the drama.  He was a really great surprise and I was amazed at how different the father character was from the Killer.  Not to mention I also hated his character in the movie Train to Busan.  He is an actor to watch for in my opinion.

CLKYTTA: I still get the creeps when I see his face! I really thought this was a great plot twist and I’m going to admit to at least one faceless nightmare because of it.

Mirror of the Witch- Shaman Lady

1a2

I think this year mostly goes to the evil women. Shaman Hong Joo’s purpose was always to become the most powerful and make the royal family suffer for the terrible things that befell her, and she wasn’t going to let anything stand in her way. She sent shivers down my spine for most the show’s run. This actress was so great at being bad. Though she never made me feel sorry for her, and I was livid at how easy her death was.

CLKYTTA – Evil Shaman Lady was so evil that she was willing to sacrifice everyone so she could be with the man she loved.  I was really interested in her backstory, but I couldn’t find it in me to feel sorry for her. I felt like her ending was really anticlimactic and I had hoped she would go down in flames, but no such luck.

CLKYTTA

The K2 – Evil Stepmom

.2a88.png

I’m going to admit I never finished this drama.  I got very bored, so bored that even Evil Stepmom couldn’t keep me watching.  I liked her character so much more than Yoona’s.  She was evil, but she was a woman who got things done and I respect that.

KMUSE: Other than Ji Chang Wook kicking butt, she was the only thing I found interesting in the drama.  Very good actress who stole the show.

Moonlight Drawn by Clouds – Evil Queen

2a82

I chose her because nothing is more evil than a horrible mother and this one is the worst.  I still can’t believe she was willing to have her own child killed so she could take over the throne.

Scarlet Heart – Eyeliner Prince

a4

I have to admit that even though he was evil, he was a sexy evil.  He had the best accessories and a bad mommy complex.  I didn’t even feel a bit of sympathy for him when his mother abandoned him.

Drama Geek: Watching Evil Eyeliner Prince was one of my favorite parts of this show.

KMUSE: I second the love for evil guyliner prince.  His makeup would make anyone jealous.  He has some serious skills.

KMUSE:

Fantastic – The Evil In-Laws

.2a85.png

I watched this drama to the end solely to watch these horrible people get their just desserts.  A great example of entitled rich people who deserve all the bad karma that came their way.

wd43

Remember: War of the Son – Nam Goong Min

2a84

Before this drama I had been going on a long term Nam Goong Min dislike.  I have not enjoyed his character in any drama for years.  Then comes 2016 and I can’t get enough of him.  His smirky evil chaebol was just so satisfying to watch.  For once, it was OK to hate him and I think it created a cathartic reset since I liked his following drama role as well.

Scarlet Heart – Evil Queens

So many evil women that I love to hate.  It just so happens that they all happen to be queens and had complicated relationships with the same son/brother/king. Its been weeks since the drama has ended and I still get random icky moments in thinking about all these crazy mixed up relationships.

CLKYTTA: I think Incest Princess was the absolute worst, she ruined everyone’s lives. I’m still furious that she became a Queen even though it is historically correct.

Drama Geek: I have to admit that I have a crush on the actress who plays Evil Queen. She was so gorgeous and evil at the same time in this. It didn’t help that she was in a drama that aired at the same time playing a totally sexy news anchor. Her Queen character was the worst of the worst of the worst type of mom. Her hatred for the Fourth Prince was just unforgivable as a mother. I was sad that her death wasn’t long and painful.

This concludes our favorite people to hate list.  Did your pick for best villain make the list?  Be sure to let us know in the comments and come back in a few days as we chat about our favorite OSTs.

Til next time,

The Fangirls

Save

6 thoughts on “The Fangirl’s Favorite Villains of 2016

  1. Don’t have a clue why anyone would get bored over K2 unless it’s from a total dislike of the genre – but yep, evil stepmom was excellent and well-rounded in her nastiness 😀 Nam Goong Min did a great bat-$hit crazy psycho chaebol as well :d & faceless dad scared the bejeezus out of me. As for the various evil Queens & Princesses – I sent lots of ‘just die already’ towards the TV LOL. & Eyeliner Prince 😦 hatred fomenting in my breast cause poor Exo Prince & Bear Princess 😦
    You failed to mention Kim Bum’s masterful villain in Mrs Cop 2 – ONLY reason to watch that :d

    Like

  2. My favorite villain was Oh Dae-Hwan who played Ma Jin-Suk in 38사기동대, (Police Unit 38.)

    I loved this drama, mainly because so many of the characters were good bad guys, or bad good guys, or good-hearted villains, or greedy good guys. The whole, “is (s)he going to betray her/him, or will it turn out that (s)he’s loyal” unknowns made me love this show even more. (The writing was excellent. The acting was stellar. And Ma Jin-Suk, who started out so despicable, may or may not have been evil at the end. I’m not going to say if he was or wasn’t because I don’t like spoilers. And if anyone hasn’t watched this drama, THEY SHOULD. . .NOW!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed reading this list and I appreciated most the villains mentioned as well (I didn’t see W or Mirror of the Witch). My favourites were Evil Stepmom who indeed was amazing and I hope to see her in future projects soon and Nam Goong Min whom I definitely prefer in serious roles rather than in romcoms.

    Like

  4. That dad in W was the scariest thing I’ve seen in a long time. I thought all the villains in Signal were excellent, the Senator (Son Hyun-Joo), the police chief (Jang Hyun-Sung), plus the worthless guilty wretches from the individual segments. Also there’s nothing wrong with incompetent bad guys when it’s a comedy, the uncle & his feckless hired assassin gave me a good bit of pleasure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

