The Fangirls Day 18 – 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge

FotorCreated18.jpgIt is a rare find in dramaland……..a female 2nd lead that doesn’t make you want to slap them over the head with a frying pan.  Which is why we are chatting our favorites in Day 18 of the 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge.

Day 18:  Your favorite second female lead in a drama

CLKYTTA: I’m not sure if she qualifies as second lead, but I loved Bo Ra in Answer Me 1988.  I loved her character arc, she was one character who we grew with through the drama.  I loved how true to herself she was and how she fought for what she wanted.  I loved that drama because the secondary characters were all so well played and well developed.

b2ts.png

Drama Geek: Again, CLKYTTA, with the stealing of my choices!! Lol. Bo Ra was awesome in 1988 and is one of my favorite second leads. Pretty much all the second lead girls (if you can call them that) in the Reply series are great, but I think it’s because the writer doesn’t just use them as a plot device and gives them their own story.

Okay, on to my real choice. Shin Soon Ae from Oh My Ghostess. I love Kim Seul Gi’s acting and I can’t wait for her to get her first full series lead part. She rocked the ghost who just needed to get laid. You loved her as much as you loved the lead, and I spent most of the show trying to figure out how they might be able to bring her back from the dead. If you want to see her get the boy, check out Splash Splash Love. It’s only 2 episodes but it’s SO CUTE.

b2t.png

KMUSE: I adored Lee Soo Kyung in Ho Goo’s Love.  Half of the time I was more invested in her story than that of the leads.  It was truly amusing that they switched up the love triangle and she was in competition with her brother for her first love.

b2.png

My second favorite 2nd lead female was from Protect the Boss.  Seo Na Yoon was awesome as the jilted lover turned stalker bestie.  I might not enjoy Wang Ji Hye in all her dramas, but she will always have a place in my drama loving heart for her portrayal of this character.

b1.png

Who is your favorite 2nd leading lady?  Be sure to let us know in the comments and check back tomorrow for an all new challenge post.

See you tomorrow,

The Fangirls

11 thoughts on “The Fangirls Day 18 – 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge

  1. Sorry that it’s not a Korean drama but in Tawan Tor Saeng, a lakorn, the second lead is (via a very twisty plot) a lovely young girl named Prangphip who is actually the lead’s secret half sister. Yes, the plot involves the lead, Pakaphong, taking out revenge on the mother who abandoned him by dating his secret half sister. Despite the ick factor, she is actually a very nice, innocent girl who becomes friends with the real heroine, Risa. http://mydramalist.com/9996-tawan-tor-saeng

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agree with Wang Ji Hye, along with the third friend (can’t remember “Miss Wrestler’s” name)….awesome trio of friends! She is now in the cast of Yeah, That’s How It Is…I like her smile and cheerfulness!

    Like

  3. I agree with all of your choices…I loved them as well.
    My other favorites are: all girl friends in Dalja’s Spring, the King 2 Hearts second leads (and the couple ♥), prime minister and I

    Like

    • Oh yes, Lee Yoon-ji in King 2 Hearts! That was the first time I’d experienced a second female lead who wasn’t vying for the male lead’s affections. I didn’t realise till then that such characters existed!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Glad to hear that Bo Ra has a character arc. Am currently on ep 2 and her screaming and bullying of everyone in the family is driving me up the wall. I see where it’s coming from but still…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

