Drama Banchan: Dramathoning Like A Fangirl #4

collage4With some new dramas added into the watching docket, it is time to check in with The Fangirls and see what we are watching.  What is the big draw this time?  Slick plots?  Magical abs? Yoo Seung Ho’s tears?  Come check out their comments and opinions for all the latest dramas, as well as news on upcoming recapping projects.

Moorim School

a2.jpg

SYNOPSIS:

The Moorim School isn’t focused solely on high academic scores. The school teaches its students virtues including honesty, faith, sacrifice and communication. The teachers and students at the school come from different countries and each have their own stories.

CLKYTTA: For someone who really isn’t into school dramas, I seem to be watching a lot of them lately… This show had me at abs, I mean, the well thought out plot and storyline.  I like the idea of a school with a supernatural feel and a super student who will either save or destroy them. At least, that’s the kind of feel I’m getting when they talk about seals being broken and such.  It’s always fun to see the arrogant hero taken down a notch or two and this show looks like it will be all about abs, I mean, character development.

DRAMA GEEK: I’m a huge Last Airbender/Legend of Korra fan so this show’s premise peaked my interest with the mystical martial arts element in the trailer. I’m happy to say, even though the CGI is a bit laughable, that I like what I’ve seen so far. Most of the cast is pretty green so the acting isn’t necessarily top notch, but it’s nice to see many countries represented in the student body and teaching staff. Also, I‘m a sucker for school dramas because I love ensemble casts that allow for more story than just the main OTP (one true pairing) getting together. I’m hoping for lots of strong female characters. Tons of bromance (when you have that many boys in one school there has to be some, right?) and a fun reveal of what secrets Moorim School holds.

Kdrama Jen: The trailers sold me on this one!  It had a Harry Potter kind of vibe that caught my attention.  I am a complete sucker for high school dramas, so I am excited to see how this one unfolds.

KMUSE: I am totally in it for the abs and the Kpop MV feel.  It is fun and entertaining which is sometimes all I want in a drama.  It’s amazing how a shower scene an episode can hide a lot of plot flaws.

Jennie: HONGBIN!!! Need I say more? When one of your top five idols is in a drama, you don’t miss it. (Can’t wait for my UB ((ultimate bias)) Onew in Descents of the Sun.) No it’s nothing stunning on the writing docket, but I predict loads of fun, and there’s a killer martial arts scene at the end of ep. 2. Go watch it for yourself.

Turtle Maknae: I love school dramas! It’s the teen in me that had a stupid boring high school life that wants to relive it or something. Anyway I’m super excited for this drama. I love Lee Hyun Woo. I watched him in God of Study and though he was cute but then when he was in To The Beautiful You, I fell in love with him! His acting is fab but his smile is to die for. He was  superb in Secretly Greatly. Hongbin from VIXX? Yes please! He has a nice face and a fab body to boot. Time to see if the boy can act! Seeing that it is a tv drama, the special effects have the probability of being low quality but as long as the plot and acting is good, I can over look that. I still hope it’s good and not distracting in anyway other than because it’s cool. I heard that Shannon Williams and Xander(Ex-UKISS) are in it. I love Shannon so I hope she is seen a lot. All Around I’m looking forward to this drama and am very exited!

Jang Yeong Shil

Seo-In-Guk1

SYNOPSIS:

Drama series follows the life Jang Yeong Shil: a scientist, technician and inventor during the Joseon period. Jang Yeong Shil was born in the lower class nobi. King Sejong notices his abilities and brings him to the palace. King Sejong grants him a chance to display his abilities. He invents tools like astronomical instruments, iron printing press and a water clock

KMUSE:  I started this drama but am not really feeling it.  Not sure what it is, but the interest is just not there.  For those of you who love historicals, you might want to check it out, but I will probably save it for a rainy day in the future…….maybe……..probably not.

Remember: War of the Son

a3

SYNOPSIS:

Seo Jin Woo has the condition of hyperthymesia, which allows him to remember almost every day in perfect detail. To prove the innocence of his father, Jin Woo becomes a lawyer. He struggles to prove his father’s innocence, but he begins to lose his memory due to Alzheimer’s.

KMUSE:  Yoo Seung Ho is an amazing actor and really pulls me into his various scenes.  That said, I am a bit worried that his character is just too naive to make this a successful revenge/melo.  Already I feel that we are just circling around with our leads not being smart enough (despite the memory thing) to catch up with our bad guy.

12510327_1674739026143590_228749803203715401_n

Talking about bad guys, Nam Gung Min is killing it as an entitled psychopath.  There is just something about his lack of control and total delusion that he needs to kill anyone who gets in his way, that is fascinating.  It’s like being hypnotized by an evil cobra.

Jennie: I worry for the same reason. The first few eps felt fresh, but I don’t like recycling the same story line over and over until we get a conclusion. I have to agree with Amber about the bad guy. It’s almost worth it to watch just for him.

Turtle Maknae: I haven’t started watching this but I love Yoo Seung Ho and was so happy to hear that so soon after getting back for Military service, he was cast in a drama. The story sounds like it could be fun and full of twists and intrigue. Time to binge watch! 

Bromance

21488_1096698420340514_5075641656556846679_nSYNOPSIS:

Because of one simple word from a soothsayer, Pi Ya Nuo has been raised as a boy all her life. By chance she saves underworld mob boss Du Zi Feng and his sister. His sister falls in love with Pi Ya Nuo at first sight. Things gets complicated when the she becomes “sworn brothers” with the mob boss, just as her 26th birthday comes closer, and with it her chance to finally live as a woman. As her 26th birthday approaches, she must decide if she wants to return to a woman or continue to be Du Zi Feng’s best pal.

CLKYTTA: I love a good gender bender romance, and Bromance is all that is good and cheesy. The OTP have great chemistry and I get the warm fuzzies watching them dance around each other. At this point, I don’t care and Zhi Feng doesn’t care if she’s a boy or a girl.  I have my suspicions on whether or not he knows the truth, I think he does. Meanwhile, our second romance just bores me to tears.  I don’t like Na Na’s character and have zero sympathy for her, even though the writers are trying hard to make her a more sympathetic character.  There is no character development at all in Qing Yang, I think I can count on two hands all of his lines in 13 episodes.  This drama is one of the cheesiest and full of just about every drama trope imaginable, but it’s a guilty pleasure and not a hot mess.

Kdrama Jen: The trading places/girl pretends to be a guy trope has been done in many ways with many actresses.  I am usually yelling at my screen because you would have to be seriously impaired to think a pixie cut, baseball cap, and baggy clothes are all it takes to transform a beautiful woman into a man.  Usually it is laughable. In this drama, though, I am fully convinced.  There is also a whole lotta skinship too.  There are so many touches, accidental kisses, and sultry looks leading up to…something more, I can barely catch my breath.  I feel like I did while reading the Twilight books.  I want to shout, “Just bite her already!!”  Oh, sorry. I might have gotten a bit carried away.

KMUSE:  Yes it is exactly that feeling you get from reading Twilight.  That, it is so intense and private yet I can’t look away because they are going to start making out any second, kind of feel.  Now I suddenly want Chen Baron to suddenly play Edward in a Tversion of Twilight….

Turtle Maknae: This drama is so great. The Taiwanese seem to be much better at gender bending than Korea(looking at you To The Beautiful You, Sulli is so not a man). The two main actor/tress have such amazing and intense chemistry. Just the way he looks at her gives me goosebumps. Honestly all the guys are super attractive and the girl who plays NaNa is the most adorable thing I’ve seen. All looks aside, there isn’t anyone who isn’t great at acting. All the actors/tresses are fabulous and the characters they portray seem so real. Pi Yanuo’s (Sounds like Piano) parents are so real and so funny. I love this drama and agonize over the wait each week.

Cheese in the Trap

UntitledSYNOPSIS:

Having returned to college after a year long break, due to her family’s poor background, Hong Sul, a hard-working over-achiever, inadvertently got on the wrong side of Yoo Jung, her senior who is athletic, good looking, gets good grades and has a kind personality, but also a hidden dark side. From then on her life took a turn for the worse and Sul was almost certain it was all Yoo Jung’s doing. So why is he suddenly acting so friendly a year later?

CLKYTTA: I have a feeling this may be my favorite new drama.  The heroine is very real, she’s struggling to find her way and succeed in life.  She’s hardworking to a point that she is socially awkward, so our storyline revolves around her finding out there is more to life than just hard work.  Our heroes are both swoon worthy, and men with secrets.  Jung runs hot and cold and while I think he likes her, I think he’s been used before and he will have a hard time trusting her.  In Ho is a character I can’t decide if I like or not, he’s got the whole bad boy vibe going, but he’s also got little tidbits of nice guy in there too.  Hong Seol is caught in the middle, and I’m curious to see how this plays out.

DRAMA GEEK: I love our heroine Hong Seol. She brings up memories of myself from college. Focused on just paying for school and making good grades, and not really able to enjoy the ride. She’s also very much like me because she over-analyzes everything people do and is in her head a lot. Because of this, I’m never sure if Jung really likes her or if this is just some weird science experiment to him. On the flip side, we have In Ho. Okay, so I’ll admit that Seo Kang Joon is sooo pretty, his eyes mesmerize me. I’ve enjoyed watching him before but this role really seems to fit him. Wounded bad boy puppy. I mean, it doesn’t take a scientist to realize he’s all swagger and not really bad. He’s a pretty straight forward type person and when he’s around Hong Seol, you can tell she’s herself and doesn’t really worry too much about making a good impression. I’m curious to find out what happened in the boys past. I feel like this will shed some light on who Jung really is and how he ticks. I find myself intrigued with all of our characters and can’t wait to peel back the layers.

KMUSE: I will be honest and tell you that I had the hardest time getting into the webtoon.  Thankfully, with the subtle nuances of everyone’s faces, the live action version is totally doing it for me.  Thoroughly enjoying everyone’s performances and have no clue where the plot is going.

Jennie: This one is my personal favorite right now. I find the characters mysterious and refreshing. I already like BOTH guys, so that’s always a win.

Love YunGe from the Desert

a5.jpgSYNOPSIS:

During the Western Han Dynasty, an eight-year-old Emperor Zhao of Han meets a girl Huo Yun Ge (daughter of Huo Qu Bing and Jin Yu from Ballad of the Desert), who rescued him from the cold of the desert. Ten years later, Huo is now a beautiful young woman, who could not forget the boy she saved. However, the emperor has long forgotten Huo, and with a new love in his life, Xu Ping Jun. The heartbroken Huo later meets a handsome Meng Jue, only later to find herself embroiled in a power struggles within the imperial palace.

KMUSE: My kbestie, Angela, and I are watching this Chinese drama.  It is by the same novelist as Sound of the Desert which we loved and is a sequel telling the story of the previous dramas daughter played by Angelbaby.  And just like in Sound of The Desert the future OTP is also a mystery.  Think   Answer Me in Chinese historical form…… Right now I am impatiently waiting for her to reconnect with her childhood sweetheart (they keep missing each other and not figuring out who the other is) while she dates the wrong man instead.  While I am really enjoying this show, I can see how it would not be everyone’s cup of tea.  Waiting for her to figure out who she loves, or, at least, who I think she should love, is frustrating to the extreme.

And this concludes our little glimpse into the viewing habits of The Fangirls.  We also are all watching Answer Me 1988, but plan on doing a super special roundtable discussion later this week (look for it since we all have a lot to say about the ending and series as a whole.)  Jennie, Kmuse, and Drama Geek also have some new recapping projects (Signal, Cheese in The Trap, and more) planned so be sure to check back through the next week and beyond.

Keep up the good dramathoning,

The Fangirls

2 thoughts on “Drama Banchan: Dramathoning Like A Fangirl #4

  1. So glad to see that there are other viewers seeing the similarities between Love YunGe and Answer Me 1988. Both shows tie in to how viewers both want to know and don’t want to know the future of the lead characters. Both shows are “slice of life” in that they show daily interactions but they also throw out so many hints that you can’t wait for the “future slice of life” to arrive as well. Although I love the novel behind Love YunGe, I think the fact that we all know there are some really sad events in Chinese history that is keeping my eyes on Answer Me 1988. Pretty sure there are no banquet massacres at baduk conferences.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with everything CLKYTTA said about Bromance; it’s definitely my guilty pleasure drama. The OTP’s chemistry kills me because they’re so natural with each other and ugh, the stares, the kisses, the almost-kisses, the close proximity, the hugs, the talking, and just everything those two does give me the warm and fuzzies, too. While I don’t think Zifeng knows of Yanuo’s true identity, I think the reveal will not make him THAT mad at her for lying to him all this time, because y’know, he’s so IN LOVE with her, that I think after a few deep breaths and maybe some time apart (must we go there, drama?) for him to brood, he’ll realized that Yanuo is literally the girl of his dreams.

    Lol @ the second romance boring you to tears–I feel the same way! I don’t like to skip parts when I’m watching a drama, so I don’t with this one, but gosh, I’m always so tempted to skip their parts because I just don’t care and they’re so boring. I think it’s worse because our main couple freakin’ steals the scene(s) every time and then we see the other couple and they’re literally so bland… They’re cute though, I’ll admit that much, but they do nothing for me. I’m like 99.9% sure writers are gonna let her live, too, which is good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

